NSHOF Inducts First Class in San Diego

Congratulations to the inaugural class of the U.S. National Sailing Hall of Fame (NSHOF)! We’re always excited to see people recognized for their contribution to our fabulous sport.

The ceremony, which will be moved around the country each year, was held at the San Diego Yacht Club over the weekend and honored a group that has truly made an enormous impact in the sailing world.

The list of inaugural inductees included US SAILING Disabled Sailing Team Coach and five-time Rolex Yachtswoman of the Year Betsy Alison (Newport, RI); surfboard industry pioneer Hobie Alter (California); 1998 Whitbread Round the World Race winning skipper Paul Cayard (Kentfield, CA); four-time America’s Cup winning skipper Dennis Conner (San Diego, CA); naval architect and America’s Cup winning skipper Ted Hood (Portsmouth, RI); sailor, author and Emmy-award winning sailing commentator Gary Jobson (Annapolis, MD); 1972 Soling Olympic Gold Medalist Buddy Melges (Zenda, WI); 1968 Star Olympic Gold Medalist and founder of North Sails Lowell North (San Diego, CA); and America’s Cup winning helmsman and four-time Rolex Yachtsman of the Year Ted Turner (Atlanta, GA).

Additional posthumous inductees included Transatlantic Race record setter Capt. Charles “Charlie” Barr (Marblehead, MA); naval architect Capt. Nathanael G. Herreshoff (Bristol, RI); two-time America’s Cup winning skipper Emil “Bus” Mosbacher (Greenwich, CT); the first-ever singlehanded circumnavigator and noted writer Joshua Slocum (San Francisco, CA); yacht designer Olin Stephens (Hanover, NH); and three-time America’s Cup winning skipper Harold S. Vanderbilt (New York, NY).

For more information on the National Sailing Hall of Fame, go to www.nshof.org.

This entry was posted in Dock Talk and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>